Presidential Election : The Election Commission of India on 11 June 2012 notified the date for the 14th Presidential election.

In accordance with the sub-section (1) of section (4) of the Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Act, 1952, the Election Commission of India fixed the following schedule for the presidential election 2012 :

  • Date for the issue of notification for the Presidential Election : 16 June 2012
  • last date for the nomination: 30 June 2012
  • Date for the scrutiny of nomination papers: 2 July 2012
  • last date for the withdrawal of candidatures: 4 July 2012
  • Date of Election : 19 July 2012
  • Announcement of Results : 22 July 2012

Article 52 of the Indian constitution states that there shall be a President of India. The executive powers of the Union shall be vested in the President. He, as the head of a state, symbolises the nation.

Article 55 (3) of the Indian Constitution provides for the manner of the Presidential election in India. The presidential election is held in accordance with the system of Proportional representation by means of Single transferable vote method. The Voting takes place by secret ballot system.

Article 324 of the Constitution read with the Presidential and Vice –Presidential Elections Act, 1952, and the Presidential and Vice-PresidentialElections Rules, 1974 vests the superintendence, direction and control of the conduct of election to the office of the President of India in the ElectionCommission of India. The Election Commission is mandated to ensure that the election to the office of the President of India, which is the highest elective office inthe nation, must be a free and fair election and the Commission is taking allnecessary steps for discharging its constitutional responsibility. However, in case of any dispute regarding the Presidential election, the Supreme Court of India decides the matter.

As per the article 54 of the Indian constitution, the President is elected by electoral college comprising the elected members of both Houses of Parliament, and elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of all States including National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry. The nominated members of Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies of the States can not participate in the election.

The electoral college for the Presidential poll 2012 is 4896. A total of 776 Members of Parliament and 4120 Members of Legislative Assemblies will participate in presidential election 2012.

Presidential Election – Electoral College?

An electoral college is a set of electors who collectively elect the President of India. It consists of elected members of both Houses of Parliament, and elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of all States including National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

Presidential Election – Proportional Representation system:

In the ordinary straight voting system a candidate who secures the highest number of votes is declared elected, while under the Proportional Representation system any member who secures the necessary quota of votes is declared elected. There are several ways of finding out the quota, but the most common method is to divide the total number of valid votes cast by the total number of seats in the constituency plus one and add one to the quotient.

Presidential Election – Single Transferable Vote System

The Single Transferable Vote means that each elector has only one vote, irrespective of the number of seats to be filled up. For instance, if there are six seats to be filled up, the elector does not cast six votes but indicates six successive preferences, by marking his first preference and the succeeding preferences with the appropriate numerals against the name of candidates printed on his ballot paper.

Presidential Election – Eligibility Criteria of the President:

  • He/She should be a citizen of India
  • Should have completed the age of 35 years; and
  • Should have qualified for election as a member of the House of the People i.e Lok Sabha

Being said this, a person shall not be eligible for election as President if he holds any office of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or under any Local or other Authority subject to the control of any of the State Governments.