National Eligibility Test:

The National Educational Testing Bureau of University Grants Commission (UGC) conducts National Eligibility Test (NET) to determine eligibility for lectureship and for award of Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) for Indian nationals in order to ensure minimum standards for the entrants in the teaching profession and research. The National Eligibility Test is conducted in Humanities (including languages), Social Sciences, Forensic Science, Environmental Sciences, Computer Science and Applications and Electronic Science.

The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) conducts the UGC-CSIR NET (National Eligibility Test) for other Science subjects, namely, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Mathematical Sciences and Earth Atmospheric Ocean & Planetary Sciences jointly with the UGC. The tests are conducted twice in a year generally in the months of June and December. For candidates who desire to pursue research, the Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) is available for five years subject to fulfillment of certain conditions. UGC has allocated a number of fellowships to the universities for the candidates who qualify the test for JRF. The JRFs are awarded to the meritorious candidates from among the candidates qualifiying for eligibility for lectureship in the National Eligibility Test. JRFs are available only to the candidates who opt for it in their application forms.

The National Eligibility Test for Junior Research Fellowship is being conducted since 1984. The Government of India, through its notification dated 22nd July, 1988 entrusted the task of conducting the eligibility test for lectureship to UGC. Consequently, UGC conducted the first National Eligibility Test, common to both eligibility for Lectureship and Junior Research Fellowship in two parts, that is, in December 1989 and in March , 1990.

National Eligibility Test

National Eligibility Test Scheme And Date Of Examination:

The UGC-NET (National Eligibility Test) will be conducted in objective mode from June, 2012 onwards. The National Eligibility Test will consist of three papers. All the three papers will consist of only objective type questions and will be held  in two separate sessions.

Paper-I shall be of general nature, intended to assess the teaching/research aptitude of the candidate.National Eligibility Test Papaer-I will primarily be designed to test reasoning ability, comprehension, divergent thinking and general awareness of the candidate. Sixty (60) multiple choice questions of two marks each will be given, out of which the candidate would be required to answer any fifty (50). In the event of the candidate attempting more than fifty questions, the first fifty questions attempted by the candidate would be evaluated.

60 Questions for 100 Marks, Out of which 50  question to be attempted – Time duration is 1¼ Hours (Usually, 09.30 A.M. to 10.45 A.M.) )

Paper-II shall consist of 50 objective type compulsory questions based on the subject selected by the candidate. Each question will carry 2 marks.

50 questions for 100 Marks and all the questions are  compulsory  1¼ Hours (Usually 10.45 A.M. to 12.00 NOON)

Paper-III will consist of 75 objective type compulsory questions from the subject selected by the candidate. Each question will carry 2 marks.

(Will be conducted on the second session of the day, Total of 75 questions for 150 Marks, and all are  compulsory – National Eligibility Test Duration will be 2½ Hours ( Usually, 01.30 P.M. to 04.00 P.M.) )

The candidate will have to mark the responses for questions of Paper-I, Paper-II and Paper-III on the Optical Mark Reader (OMR) sheet provided along with the Test Booklet. The detailed instructions for filling up the National Eligibility Test OMR Sheet will be sent to the candidate along with the Admit Card.

Minimum Marks Required For National Eligibility Test (NET)

The candidates are required to obtain minimum marks separately in Paper-I, Paper-II and Paper-III as given below:

General Category:

  • Paper I – 40 (40%)
  • Paper II – 40 (40%)
  • Paper III – 75 (50 %)

OBC(Non-creamy layer):

  • Paper I – 35 (35%)
  • Paper II – 35 (35 %)
  • Paper III – 67.5 (Rounded off to 68 (45 %)


  • Paper I – 35 (35%)
  • Paper II – 35 (35 %)
  • Paper III – 60(40 %)

Only such candidates who obtain the minimum required marks in each Paper, separately, as mentioned above, will be considered for final preparation of result (National Eligibility Test).

However, the final qualifying criteria for Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) and Eligibility for Lectureship shall be decided by UGC before declaration of result.

For Visually Handicapped (VH) candidates thirty minutes’ extra time shall be provided separately for paper-I and Paper-II. For paper-III, forty five minutes’ extra time shall be provided. They will also be provided the services of a scribe who would be a graduate in a subject other than that of the candidate. Those Physically Handicapped (PH) candidates who are not in a position to write in their own hand-writing can also avail these services by making prior request (at least one week before the date of UGC-NET)(National Eligibility Test) in writing to the Co-ordinator of the test centre. Extra time and facility of scribe would not be provided to other Physically Handicapped candidates.

Syllabus of National Eligibility Test:

Download the Syllabus for NET(National Eligibility Test) Exam From this location. Syllabus for all National Eligibility Test subjects can be downloaded from the UGC Website and are also available in the libraries of all Indian Universities. UGC will not send the syllabus to individual candidates.

In case of any discrepancy found in the English and Hindi versions, the questions in English version shall be taken as final.