Beti Bachao Beti Padho Scheme Extended to 61 More Districts With Low Child Sex Ratio

The Union Government has extended the Beti Bachao Beti Padho Scheme in additional 61 districts across 11 States and Union Territories with low Child Sex Ratio. It was announced by the Women and Child Development Minister Maneka Gandhi while addressing the function in New Delhi. About Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao Scheme The scheme is designed […]

Laureus World Sports Awards 2016

World No 1 tennis player Novak Djokovic from Serbia has won the 2016 Laureus Sportsman of the Year Award. He has won it for second time after winning it in 2012. US tennis legend Serene Williams has won the 2016 Laureus Sportswoman of the Year Award. It was her fourth Laureus Awards after she won […]

Golden Peacock Environment Management Award 2012

Golden Peacock Environment Management Award 2012 was won by Manipal University on 8 July 2012. Golden Peacock Environment Management Theme The main theme of this meet was driving sustainable business through green economy. The award was given by Karan Singh on the Fourteenth World Congress Meet on Environment Management. The Ceremony was held in the […]

Presidential Election – Indian Current Affair

Presidential Election : The Election Commission of India on 11 June 2012 notified the date for the 14th Presidential election. In accordance with the sub-section (1) of section (4) of the Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Act, 1952, the Election Commission of India fixed the following schedule for the presidential election 2012 : Date for […]

IRDA renamed to Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India

Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority (IRDA) was renamed as Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India on 30 December 2014. The change in name came in to effect after the promulgation of Insurance Laws (Amendment) Ordinance, 2014, by the President of India on 26 December 2014. The amendment was done to the Insurance Regulation and […]

Sahitya Akademi Award 2014 – 22 Poets and Authors to get Sahitya Akademi Award

22 poets and authors named for prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award 2014: Sahitya Academy has announced the names of 22 poets and authors who will be conferred the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award 2014. This  award has recognised premier works in 22 Indian languages that includes eight books of poetry, five novels, three books of essays, three […]

Dr. Abdul Kalaam’s 3 visions for India

Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam, born 15 October 1931 is an Indian scientist and administrator who served as the11th President of India from 2002 to 2007. Kalam was born and raised in Rameswaram, Tamil Nadu, studied physics at the St. Joseph’s College, Tiruchirappalli, and aerospace engineering at the Madras Institute of Technology, Chennai. Kalam advocated […]

Bharat Ratna for Vajpayee and Madan Mohan Malaviya

The President’s Office on Wednesday announced the Bharat Ratna award to Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya (posthumously) and former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. The announcement was made on the eve of Mr. Vajpayee’s 90th birthday and the 153rd birth anniversary of Pandit Malviya. The BJP has been demanding Bharat Ratna for Mr. Vajpayee for a […]

Current Affairs 2012 for IAS, Bank, PSU, SSC Exams

For aspirants who wish to crack important examination, current affairs is essential because in every competitive exam questions related to currents affairs are compulsorily asked, whether it is an examination of IAS, bank PO/clerks, PSUs, SSCs or entrance examinations like LLB, MBA, etc. In IAS examinations in the last couple of years more than fifty […]

Sachin Tendulkar named as brand ambassador for ICC World Cup 2015

Bharat Ratna awardee and doyen of cricket Sachin Tendulkar has been named as the brand ambassador for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. It was announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) at Dubai. As a brand ambassador of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, he will promote and support a variety of ICC initiatives to enhance […]